Responsibility, for our actions…

A portion of the Upajjhatthana Sutta (AN 5.57) is commonly chanted to remind ourselves solemnly:

Kammassakomhi
kamma-dayado
kamma-yoni
kamma-bandhu
kamma-patisarano.
Yam kammam karissami
kalyanam va papakam va
tassa dayado bhavissami-ti

I am the owner of my deeds,
   the heir to my deeds,
   the womb of my deeds,
   the relative of my deeds,
my deeds are my refuge.
Whatever deed I do,
   good or evil,
      I will be its heir.

Similarly for others:

I am not the only one
who is
   the owner of deeds,
   the heir to deeds,
   the womb of deeds,
   the relative of deeds,
whose deeds are my refuge;
whatever deed I do,
   good or evil,
      I will be its heir,

but

where beings
   come and go,
   pass away and arise,

all beings are
   owners of deeds,
   heirs to deeds,
   wombs to deeds,
   relatives of deeds,
whose deeds are their refuge;

whatever deed they have done,
   good or evil,
      will be their heirs.

Whatever deeds they do,
   good or evil,
      they will be heirs to them.

1 Comment

  1. Ms. Vino Wijeratne said,

    15 February 2017 at 09:49

    Sadhu for these translated teachings!


Leave a Reply

