Ravine

I did take the leap.
Eventually.
 
But in retrospect,
I was a fool to have leapt.
 
Because I fell.
 
It wasn’t just a canal.
It was a ravine.
 
Hurtling downwards,
I was numb.
 
The agony came,
When I hit the bottom.
 
For two days I lay there,
Broken.
Devastated.
 
For two days that I laid there,
I tried to tell myself:
At least I was still alive.
But I didn’t believe myself.
I couldn’t bring my mind around.
 
Until today,
Someone played soothing music down the chasm,
And reminded me I was still alive.
 
Thank you.
Leave a Reply

