Canal

There was a wide canal.
I really really wanted to cross it.
I would have to leap across it.
 
But right before I tried to leap,
I felt a powerful fear.
A fear of failure.
What if I missed? What if I fell?
 
Could I cross it
With many many small steps?
 
And so I took
Many many small steps.
 
But all my many many small steps
Were up and down along
The same side
Of the canal.
 
I really wanted to cross it.
I don’t want to miss the chance again.
 
When not at the edge,
It seems so easy.
 
But when approaching the time to leap,
My legs turn to jelly.
 
Will I never cross the canal?
Leave a Reply

